Perspective Students | Current Students | Staff | Alumni | Partners

History of Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities, Mahidol University

 Mahidol University’s origin is linked to the establishment of the University of Medical Sciences in 1943. Later in 1964 the university was renamed as Mahidol University by H.M King Bhumibol Adulyadej in honor of his Royal Father, H.M King Bhumibol Adulyadej. At that time, it was planned Mahidol University would expand beyond its focus on medicine and public health to encompass the social sciences as well. This came to fruition in 1969 when Mahidol University was officially endorsed by H.M King Bhumibol Adulyadej along with a charter from the Office of the Prime Minister establishing the Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities; the 12th faculty at Mahidol University.

 In 1972, the university appointed Professor Chatchawan Osathanon, M.D., former rector of Mahidol University, as an interim and first dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities. The first mission was to create a curriculum and to provide general education for undergraduate students.

 In 1974, the Faculty was granted permission to re-organize into three departments plus the Office of the Dean. These three departments comprised the Department of Social Sciences, the Department of Humanities, and the Department of Education. Thereafter, the faculty began to offer master’s degrees and then other graduate studies.

 In 1982, the Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities was among the first faculties that moved from Phayathai campus in Bangkok to Salaya campus in Nakhon Pathom province. In 2010, the Faculty established a fourth department, the Department of Society and Health. Nowadays, the Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities consists of four departments and four administrative offices.


>> Department of Social Sciences

    The Department of Social Sciences is responsible for providing academic teaching and research in the field of social sciences. The department offers 10 programs including 3 doctoral degree programs, 6 master’s degree programs, and 1 bachelor’s degree program. These programs are specialized in the fields of criminology and justice administration, public administration, environmental social science, and medical records.


>> Department of Humanities

      The Department of Humanities is responsible for providing academic teaching and research in the fields of religious studies and ethical studies.              The department offers 1 master’s degree program and 1 doctoral degree program in religions and development. 


>>Department of Education

     The Department of Education is responsible for providing academic teaching and research in the fields of population studies, environmental education, educational management, sport management, and social programs evaluation. The department has 5 current doctoral degree programs as well as 4 master’s degree programs. 


>>Department of Society and Health

    The Department of Society and Health is committed to educate, to gain further knowledge, and to serve for the betterment of health and society.            The Department brings together experts from diverse disciplinary backgrounds and experiences to work together in addressing health implications of social factors through education, research, training and community services. It has earned a proven track record of galvanizing students to be catalysts for change domestically and regionally. The department offers 2 doctoral degree programs and 2 master’s degree programs (including an international program). 


>>Office of the Dean

    The Office of the Dean is responsible for academic support and overall administration of the faculty. The Office of the Dean consists of 4 sections as follows: - General Administration; - Finance and Assets; - Human Resources; and - Strategic Planning and Budgeting


>>Office of Research and Academic Services

    The Office of Research and Academic Services (ORAS) is responsible for managing four tasks (Interdisciplinary Studies Journal, Institutional Review Board (IRB), library, research and academic support and services). However, ORAS’s main task is to assist its faculty members in raising both research quality and research innovation to help address the faculty’s strategies (namely, glocalization, TRS integration, and management eco-system).


>>Office of Education and Innovative Learning(TBC)

    Office of Education Administration and Learning Innovation is a unit that drives the Faculty’s mission regarding educational operations, for both undergraduate and graduate levels, consisting of Education Administration and Student Affairs section and Flexible Education and Skill Development Promotion section


>>Office of Academic Integration for Society (OAIS)

    OAIS is the newest division under Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities. It consists of for centers: 1. Center of Excellence in Sustainable Local Development 2. Center of Excellence in Health, Law, and Quality of Life 3. Center of Excellence in Research on Gender, Sexuality, and Health 4. Center for China and Globalizing Asia Studies (CCGA)